Pop culture catchup

I would have been really annoyed if I had wasted six years watching Lost. As it was, we busted through it in less than two years (mostly helping the time pass during many indoor winter workouts). I increasingly didn’t care about the story as time went on, but I still had to see it through. I was just really annoyed by the ending (and disappointed that they didn’t kill off Kate long before the end of the show). I liked this snarky summary of the last episode more than the actual show.

“Friday Night Lights” is almost a spinoff at this point, having moved on to several new characters and a new school, but it is still full of great writing and good acting. This is one of the most moving and well-written hours of television I have seen.

“Adventureland” is a sweet but forgettable movie about life and love among an amusement park crew. I thought it would be funnier. Turns out that the only funny characters are the park managers, who provide over-the-top and out-of-place comic relief. Also, I liked Jesse Eisenberg but sorry guy, Michael Cera has the market cornered on dorky, sweet virgins. To be fair, Cera is 22 but looks 16, so I’m not sure he could actually play a believable 22 year old.

“Dreamgirls” was a good story with good musical performances, but did it really need the extra musical scenes that advance the plot through song and have everyone spontaneously bursting into song? If I want that shit, I’ll watch a Björk video:

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pop culture catchup

  1. Amy

    Haha- yeah, I was definitely not sad to see Lost end. I’m with you on Friday Night Lights! Even with some of the characters gone, it’s still been great so far…

  2. Kevin

    I have to disagree with your desire to kill off Kate… the only thing more disorienting than the plot was her weekly hotness.

Leave a Reply

